Ballon d' or 2017: Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar and 7 Epl players made the 30 man Nominees

30 players has been nominated for the annual ballon d' or award by the French football association for 2017 which includes the likes of Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar and other stars from around Europe top leagues.
2017 ballon d'or award

Cristiano Ronaldo is the current holder of the prestigious award and is now in a better position to win the award while his Argentine rival Lionel Messi is another strong contender for the award after his fine form for the camp nou outfit.

See also... FIFA 18 player rating

The Braillian golden boy Neymar was inevitably on the list after fine form for both club and country which subjected him to a world record  €222m to PSG.

Champions league winners Real Madrid dominated the 30 man list with 7 players lead by Ronaldo, and other talented stars like Karim Benzema and Isco, defenders Sergio Ramos and Marcelo, and midfielders Toni Kroos and Luka Modric.

Only 7 stars made the list from premier league lead by Eden Hazard and other stars like the back to back epl winner N'Golo KantePhilippe Coutinho, Kevin De Bruyne, David de Gea, Harry Kane and Sadio Mane.


The Ballon d'Or (French for 'Golden Ball') is an annual individual award which is given to the footballer who is deemed to have performed the best during the previous year.

The award was first introduced in 1956 by France football magazine as European footballer of the year, then it was restricted to only footballers from Europe, in 1995 players from other countries who play for European clubs were included before been expanded in 2007 to include players from around the world.

In 2010 the ballon d' or received a massive boost when it was merged with FIFA footballer of the year. However, the matching did not last too long before it was separated in 2016.

Messi has won the most Ballon d' or award winning a record 5 times from the last 10 editions while rival Ronaldo followed closely with 4 awards and is likely to win his 5th this year.

the list of the nominees is as follows:

30 Man Nominees for 2017 ballon d' or award

Player Teams

=> Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal)

=> Eden Hazard (Chelsea & Belgium)

=> Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan & Italy)

=> Isco (Real Madrid & Spain)

=> Kylian Mbappe (PSG & France)

=> Neymar (PSG & Brazil)

=> Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia)

=> Paulo Dybala Juventus & Argentina)

=> Marcelo (Real Madrid & Brazil)

=> N'Golo Kante (Chelsea & France)

=> Luis Suarez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

=> Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid & Spain)

=> Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid & Slovenia)

=> Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool & Brazil)

=> Dries Mertens (Napoli & Belgium)

=> Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)

=>Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich & Poland)

=> David de Gea (Manchester United & Spain)

=> Harry Kane (Tottenham & England)

=> Edin Dzeko (Roma & Bosnia-Herzegovina)

=> Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid & France)

=> Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus  & Italy)

=> Radamel Falcao (Monaco & Colombia)

=> Sadio Mane (Liverpool & Senegal)

=> Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)

=> Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)

=> Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)

=> Edinson Cavani (PSG & Uruguay)

=> Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich & Germany)

=> Karim Benzema (Real Madrid & France)

Who do you think will win the 2017 ballon d'or award is it Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar or De Gea? feel free to share your thought on the comment section.

1 comment:

Powered by Blogger.